Run For The Dream 8K

Yesterday got away from me… We got slammed at work! So let’s back up a bit…

20140603-092307-33787084.jpg
It was a good weekend! The 8K portion of the Patriot’s Challenge was on Saturday. This was my first race I ever ran, so it kind of has a special place in my heart.

Yes, I’ve only been racing for a year.

Unfortunately they changed the course a bit from last year. It used to be almost entirely in the Colonial Williamsburg area with the last mile or so on the William and Mary campus. This year, most of it was on surrounding major roads with a much shorter distance in Colonial Williamsburg and on the W&M campus. It was still pretty, but very hilly! There was also almost next to none in terms of crowd support – only really right at the finish line. While I don’t love everyone watching my jiggling body as I try to make running look easy, people cheering for you makes a big difference. That’s why I love the Richmond marathon – people are EVERYWHERE!!

The very last part of the course goes around the track at Zable stadium. I was a little overcome as I remembered how last year I was so proud to run an 8K and wondered if I would ever be able to do a greater distance. A year later – two marathons under my belt and plans to someday qualify for Boston. Not to mention everything else that has happened in my life over the last year… Better than NYE, this…

Anyhoo, I felt pretty good during the entire race. I didn’t push as hard as I could have because I knew I had the half the next day (see, I learned something from the Flying Pirate Weekend!). I finished in 46:44. Last year I ran it in 52:18, and my 8K PR is 46:12. Truthfully, I think I could have pushed a little harder to PR, and on a flatter course I could have killed it, but it’s still pretty cool to see how much my time improved.

20140603-093719-34639897.jpg

Stay tuned for the half marathon recap – whole different ball game…

Leave a Reply

